Active Topics Active Topics  Display List of Forum Members Memberlist  Invert Forum Background Colours Invert Colours  Search The Forum Search  Help Help  Register Register  Login Login
Sponsored by Beatnik Games
Hardware / Software Bits & Bobs
 |SFH| Sent From Hell :: Community Forums : Hardware / Software Bits & Bobs
Subject Topic: Help please Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Darthbaz
Site Admin
Site Admin
Avatar
GW2 Leader

Joined: 17 January 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2901
Posted: 05 October 2013 at 12:01am | IP Logged Quote Darthbaz

OK scary as this may sound to some people round here I am their tech guru....yes things ARE that bad! A friend has just got BT Home Hub 4 and one of their laptops is refusing to connect to it....other items do ,smartphones/tablet and another laptop but for whatever reason this one won't , what should I be looking for ? obviously as soon as I get more info I will post it, thanks Obi Wan Kenobis you're my only hope

__________________
Back to Top View Darthbaz's Profile Search for other posts by Darthbaz Visit Darthbaz's Homepage Send Private Message Add to Buddy List
 
Nhumrod
Site Admin
Site Admin
Avatar
Clan Leader & GM (Demonboy)

Joined: 09 September 2002
Location: Scotland
Posts: 13886
Posted: 05 October 2013 at 7:48am | IP Logged Quote Nhumrod

Is it an older laptop only running 802.11G? Perhaps the home hub is set to N only by default? Also make sure you have the latest drivers on the laptop.

What errors are you getting when connecting?

__________________
There is no IRL, there's just AFK.
Back to Top View Nhumrod's Profile Search for other posts by Nhumrod Visit Nhumrod's Homepage Send Private Message Add to Buddy List
 
Darthbaz
Site Admin
Site Admin
Avatar
GW2 Leader

Joined: 17 January 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2901
Posted: 05 October 2013 at 10:31am | IP Logged Quote Darthbaz

Not actually got to it yet, guy came round to plumb in a new tap and instead of payment asked me to sort it out for him, saved me a few quid! I was just prepping myself as to what to look for

__________________
Back to Top View Darthbaz's Profile Search for other posts by Darthbaz Visit Darthbaz's Homepage Send Private Message Add to Buddy List
 
Nhumrod
Site Admin
Site Admin
Avatar
Clan Leader & GM (Demonboy)

Joined: 09 September 2002
Location: Scotland
Posts: 13886
Posted: 07 October 2013 at 9:08am | IP Logged Quote Nhumrod

Still bartering in your bit of the world then? Hows that dystopian future working out for you?

__________________
There is no IRL, there's just AFK.
Back to Top View Nhumrod's Profile Search for other posts by Nhumrod Visit Nhumrod's Homepage Send Private Message Add to Buddy List
 
Darthbaz
Site Admin
Site Admin
Avatar
GW2 Leader

Joined: 17 January 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2901
Posted: 07 October 2013 at 10:56am | IP Logged Quote Darthbaz

It's awesome , just arranged for a short break in a lovely little place called Room 101 my mate Winston seemed quite keen on swapping .

__________________
Back to Top View Darthbaz's Profile Search for other posts by Darthbaz Visit Darthbaz's Homepage Send Private Message Add to Buddy List
 
Nhumrod
Site Admin
Site Admin
Avatar
Clan Leader & GM (Demonboy)

Joined: 09 September 2002
Location: Scotland
Posts: 13886
Posted: 07 October 2013 at 8:42pm | IP Logged Quote Nhumrod



__________________
There is no IRL, there's just AFK.
Back to Top View Nhumrod's Profile Search for other posts by Nhumrod Visit Nhumrod's Homepage Send Private Message Add to Buddy List
 
Darthbaz
Site Admin
Site Admin
Avatar
GW2 Leader

Joined: 17 January 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2901
Posted: 08 October 2013 at 2:08pm | IP Logged Quote Darthbaz

Adapter is showing as b/g , it connects to router but only with local access, tried to access router software but it refuses to play ..... New wireless card? Or is it a simpler task than that? Or bin the laptop lol

__________________
Back to Top View Darthbaz's Profile Search for other posts by Darthbaz Visit Darthbaz's Homepage Send Private Message Add to Buddy List
 
Nhumrod
Site Admin
Site Admin
Avatar
Clan Leader & GM (Demonboy)

Joined: 09 September 2002
Location: Scotland
Posts: 13886
Posted: 13 October 2013 at 5:11pm | IP Logged Quote Nhumrod

What OS? What does the output of the following command say:

ipconfig /all

__________________
There is no IRL, there's just AFK.
Back to Top View Nhumrod's Profile Search for other posts by Nhumrod Visit Nhumrod's Homepage Send Private Message Add to Buddy List
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



This page was generated in 0.1875 seconds.

Sponsored by Beatnik Games